Composers' Forum

Music Composers Unite!

The Gods of Pegãna (Mov. X) by Jason Thorpe Buchanan

The Gods of Pegãna (A Suite from the Tone Poem for Nine Musicians) by Jason Thorpe Buchanan is based on a 1905 fantasy/ alternative creation novel of the same title by Irish author Lord Dunsany that proposes: There are in Pegãna Mung and Sish and Kib (the gods of death, time and life), and the maker of all small gods, who is MANA-YOOD-SUSHAI, who made the gods and hath thereafter rested. And none may pray to MANA-YOOD-SUSHAI but only the gods whom he hath made Because he was weary after the making of the gods, and because of the drumming of Skarl, did he grow drowsy and fall asleep But at the last will MANA-YOOD-SUSHAI forget to rest, and will destroy the gods whom he hath made And there shall be only MANA-YOOD-SUSHAI. But, when at the last the arm of Skarl shall cease to beat his drum, silence shall startle Pegãna like thunder in a cave, and MANA-YOOD-SUSHAI shall cease to rest. This suite encompasses the first eight of thirty-two chapters that make up the novel and orchestral tone poem in progress.

UNLV Nextet Ensemble, Nov. 3, 2009
Virko Baley, conductor

For more information, please visit or

Views: 46

Location: Las Vegas, NV


You need to be a member of Composers' Forum to add comments!

Join Composers' Forum

Sign up info

Read before you sign up to find out what the requirements are!


© 2021   Created by Gav Brown.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service